Kosher Wine: What Makes It Different?
Wine itself has been around for nearly 6,000 years. For thousands of years Kosher wine has existed as well, which is produced according to Jewish dietary laws. There are specific rules as to how a wine can achieve the status of being Kosher – it does not happen on accident.
From the start, the entire process must be observed by Sabbath-observant Jews. In order for that process to even begin it must only include true Kosher ingredients. While the wine is being made it must be handled carefully and must be kept free from contact with grain, bread and dough. Should it come into contact with anything that it should not, the entire contents must be dumped and the process started a new.
While this process is more demanding than non-Kosher wine making processes, the demand for wine made this way has been increasing. The 1980’s saw a revival of Israeli wine productions, although the production on this wine does not just happen in Israel.
Wine is not just another beverage for Jews, it holds a long and important history in Judaism. Kosher wine is required for nearly all Jewish holidays. The emphasize this, it should be noted that four cups of wine must be had by each person for Passover Seder. There are substitutions for wine if it is not available, however, it still remains that wine is the first and foremost choice as it has been for thousands of years.
There are a few elements that are required for wine to be truly Kosher. It goes further than just the basics of the process having been observed by Sabbath-observing Jews. For example, the law Yayin Nesekh, wine that has been poured to an idol, is important. Also, Stam Yainom, which is wine that has been touched by someone who believes in idolatry or produced by non-Jews.
However, is a wine is cooked or boiled it now becomes unfit for use in idolatry and is still pure even if it has been touched by idolaters.
Kosher wines come in various types. While there is a process for Kosher wine, it is not so specific that there is only one, “recipe”. There are reds, whites, sparkling, moscato, etc. So, while certain aspects that make a wine Kosher and therefore different from other wines, Jewish people still enjoy their various types of wine and the importance of it to their faith. willamette wine tours